irons in the fire update

I usually do this at the top of the month, which isn’t until next week, but I didn’t do one for April, and now that we’re past the wedding, I’m starting to get the rest of my life back in order……………..

Marvel. The third book in the “Tales of Asgard” trilogy — Marvel’s Warriors Three: Godhood’s End — will be out in May. Joe Books is also putting out an omnibus of all three novels in the fall. In addition, I have another proposal sitting waiting for approval, which would be fun to do.

Precinct. The Kickstarter for Mermaid Precinct was a huge success. The fulfillment date is October, and I’m going to work mightily to stick to that. Meantime, I wrote “Baker’s Dozen,” which was the last Kickstarter, and I’m already cogitating on doing more Precinct stories via Kickstarter also, as that model has proven fruitful. I have two more story notions (one involving the prison barge, as established in “Catch and Release” in Tales from Dragon Precinct, another the story I originally intended for the Dragon Precinct graphic novel that failed to fund) which would work this way.

Super City Cops. I’m doing a story in this setting for an upcoming eSpec Books anthology, which I need to put together soon. Meantime, I’m hoping that sales on Avenging Amethyst, Undercover Blues, and Secret Identities are strong enough that Bastei wants more. So buy them!

Bram Gold. I’m in the midst of writing A Furnace Sealed, the first Bram Gold novel, which I’m hoping will be out by year’s end. And then, of course, there’s the next two books……

Cassie Zukav. The next Cassie story will be out in May: “Behind the Wheel” in TV Gods: Summer Programming, which will launch at Balticon 51 from Fortress Publishing. Beyond that, I have several Cassie story notions — the UFO in the Dry Tortugas story, a spring break story, a story that brings Loki and Odin back, etc. — that are just waiting for the right concatenation of circumstances to happen. And I have a verbal agreement with Plus One Press to do a second story collection once I’ve written enough stories to fill one. It’ll be called “Ragnarok and a Hard Place.”

Orphan BlackStill waiting for the final approval on Classified Clone Report, but we’re close. Looking forward to the book’s release this summer…

Supernatural. I’ve actually done all the work for John Winchester’s Journal, which will be out this fall. That was fun to do.

Sooper-seekrit project #1. This is another tie-in book, which I have to dive into after I’m done with A Furnace Sealed.

Sooper-seekrit project #2. I’ve been approached to write a tie-in trilogy, but before they sign me up, they’re paying me to write a scene between two of the characters, which has to be done by the end of May. If they like it, they’ll sign me up to write the books.

Sooper-seekrit project #3. This isn’t a done deal yet, it’s something my agent and the publisher have been discussing. We’ll see if it happens.

Star Trek. An era is coming to an end, as in three months, I’ll be done with the original series rewatch on Tor.com. I have one more animated episode and the animated series overview to do, then the next ten weeks will be taken up with the TOS movies. In addition, I still have to finish up editing the English translation of Prometheus Book 3, which was a casualty of wedding prep, sadly. But once those two things are done, I will have no new Trek stuff to do for the first time since 1999. Well, at least until Discovery premieres, as I’ll be reviewing that for Tor.com. Still, it’ll be weird to not have any projects related to Star Trek on my plate for the first time this century…..

Other Tor.com writing. I’m wrapping up the Bat-rewatch, and then after that I’ve got a weekly project for them that will kick in once the TOS Rewatch is done (we’ll be announcing that soon, I think). I also plan to do an overview of the Lynda Carter Wonder Woman and a look at WW comics in the days leading up to the release of the Gal Gadot film.

Miscellaneous. I’ve got stories coming out later this year in Nights of the Living Dead (co-edited by GEORGE FUCKING ROMERO!!!!!!), Stargate: Homeworlds, and Joe Ledger: Unstoppable. I also have a vague notion for a Stargate SG-1 novel, but I need to put it together…..

Leave a Reply

