my updated schedule at the Ghost Town Writers Retreat

ghosttown

I’ll be one of the featured speakers at the Ghost Town Writers Retreat this coming weekend in Georgetown, Colorado. The full schedule has been posted, and here is my part of it:

Friday

3-4pm: “Making Time to Write” (Heritage Center, Room 1). New writers often say “I can’t find time to write,” as if it rolled under the couch or something. I discuss time management and how to carve out time to get those words cranking.

5-5.30pm: Book Signing Event (Heritage Center, Rooms 1-3). All the authors will be selling and/or signing their books.

Saturday

3-4pm: “It’s a Career Whether You Make Money or Not” (Heritage Center, Room 3). A professional writer is also a single-person small business. I explain what that means, what the pitfalls are, and how you have to manage your career as a writer, regardless of whether or not you make your living at it.

6-7pm: “Playing in Someone Else’s Sandbox” (Heritage Center, Room 2). I’ve been writing and editing licensed fiction and shared universes for 25 years, and I share insights on how the creative process differs when someone else created the world you’re writing in.

Sunday

11am-noon: “Navigating the Submissions Minefield” (Heritage Center, Room 1). Okay, you just finished your story or novel. Now what? I discuss the many options and routes to publication.

 

There are also going to be readings throughout Saturday morning, and I may be doing one of them.

Hope to see folks there!

 

Leave a comment