Philcon 2019 schedule

philcon_logo

The first Philcon I attended was in 1992, as part of The Chronic Rift. We threw a party for the show in our hotel room, and I met a couple who became two of my closest friends, David Honigsberg and Alexandra Elizabeth Honigsberg.

The second Philcon I attended was a year later, and also the first convention I attended as a professional in the field, as that was the first one I went to as an Associate Editor for Byron Preiss Visual Publications. It was at that con that I first started seriously talking to a fellow Associate Editor, Laura Anne Gilman, who also became one of my closest friends (and Best Woman at Wrenn’s and my wedding 24 years after that Philcon).

Philcon has gone through many ups and downs over the years, but it has remained a stalwart convention, and one I always enjoy attending. We missed it last year due to being in Italy, but we’ll be there this year, Wrenn likely doing tech as she often does, and me doing programming. Plus we’ll both be part of the masquerade, me as MC, Wrenn as workmanship judge.

Here’s my schedule:

Friday

6-7pm: “Marvel’s Phase 4,” w/Shaun Mason and Pam Smith (Plaza IV)

7-8pm: reading, w/D.L. Carter and Daniel Kimmel (Executive Suite 623)

11pm-midnight: “Eye of Argon Interactive Reading,” w/James L. Cambias, B. Lana Guggenheim, Mark Singer, Michael A. Ventrella (Crystal Ballroom 3)

Saturday

11am-noon: autographing, w/Jeffrey A. Carver and Daniel Kimmel (Crystal Ballroom Promenade)

1-2pm: “Relationships in Star Trek,” w/Valerie Hoagland, Muriel Hykes, Daniel Kimmel, Theodore Krulik, and James Prego (Plaza II)

3-4pm: “Building Your Own Anthology,” w/Gordon Linzner, Darrell Schweitzer, Jim Stratton, and Ian Randal Strock (Plaza IV)

5-6pm: “Across the Universe Reading,” w/Eric Avedissian, Charles Barouch, Randee Dawn, Gregory Frost, Sally Weiner Grotta, Carol Gyzander, Gordon Linzner, Ian Randal Strock, and Michael A. Ventrella (Executive Suite 623)

8-10pm: Masquerade, w/me as the MC (Grand Ballroom A)

Sunday

11am-noon: “The Star Trek Novels,” w/Glenn Hauman, Victoria Janssen, Elyse Rosenstein, Susan Shwartz, and Steven H. Wilson (Plaza II)

1-2pm: “The Adaptation Conundrum,” w/Linda J. Lee, Bernie Mojzes, Shannon O’Shea, and Jay Smith (Plaza II)

 

Hope to see folks there!

 

2 thoughts on “Philcon 2019 schedule

  1. Hey! Don’t forget you have the eSpec Books launch party on Saturday. Mermaid Precinct is one of the books being launched.

    Sat 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM in Executive Suite 823 – ESPEC BOOKS LAUNCH PARTY

    eSpec Books invites you to join us in the Con Suite to celebrate their 2019 releases. There will be food, fun, authors, and prizes

  2. Pingback: CONVENTION UPDATE – PHILCON | eSpec Books

Leave a comment